Skip to main content

People Advisory Council

The Advisory Council of the Oxford Martin School has been convened to ensure international focus and experience from a broad range of sectors is brought to bear on the School's research agenda and public engagement strategies. The Council provides valuable advice and ongoing support to the School, especially through the annual meeting in Oxford and other visits or events throughout the year. 


  • Larry Brilliant, founding President, Skoll Global Threats Fund
  • Victor Chu, Chairman, First Eastern Investment Group
  • Vittorio Colao, former Chief Executive, Vodafone Group
  • Francis Finlay, Chairman Emeritus, EastWest Institute, New York
  • Orit Gadiesh, Chairman, Bain & Co
  • Ben Goldsmith, Chief Executive Officer, Menhaden Capital, and Founding Partner, WHEB Group
  • Mo Ibrahim, Founder, Mo Ibrahim Foundation
  • Pascal Lamy, Former Director-General, World Trade Organization
  • Amory Lovins, Co-founder, Chairman & Chief Scientist, Rocky Mountain Institute
  • Trevor Manuel, Former Minister, Republic of South Africa
  • Lillian Martin, Oxford Martin School
  • Julia Marton-Lefèvre, Former Director-General, International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
  • Nandan Nilekani, Former Chairman, Unique Identification Authority of India; former CEO, Infosys
  • Joseph Nye, Professor & former Dean, Harvard Kennedy School
  • Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, former Minister of Finance, Nigeria, and former Managing Director, World Bank
  • Peter Piot, Director, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine; former Executive Director, UNAIDS
  • Martin Rees (Lord Rees of Ludlow), former President of the Royal Society, and Emeritus Fellow of Trinity College, University of Cambridge
  • Louise Richardson, Vice-Chancellor, University of Oxford, and Chair of the Advisory Council
  • Amartya Sen, Nobel Laureate, and Professor, Harvard University
  • Mark Shuttleworth, IT entrepreneur and Founder of the Ubuntu Project
  • Sir Martin Sorrell, Former Chief Executive, WPP
  • HRH Prince Talal Bin Muhammad, Prince of Jordan
  • Andrew Pitt, Global Head of Research at Citi
  • Laurence Tubiana, Founding Director, Institute of Sustainable Development and International Relations
  • Ernesto Zedillo, Director, Yale Center for the Study of Globalization; former President of Mexico
  • Dr Shenggen Fan, Director General of the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI)

Dame Zaha Hadid was a member of the Advisory Council until her sad and untimely death in 2016.


  • Charles Godfray, Director, Oxford Martin School
  • Sarah Whatmore, Head of Social Sciences Division, University of Oxford, and Chair of the Management Committee for the Oxford Martin School