Oxford Martin School academics elected to the Royal Society

07 May 2015

© --

Three Oxford Martin School academics have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society.

Professor Henry Snaith, Co-Director of the Oxford Martin Programme on Solar Energy, Professor Gero Miesenböck, Co-Director of the Programme on Mind and Machine, and Professor Jane Langdale, Former Co-Director of the Plants for the 21st Century Institute were among the 47 new Fellows to be inducted on April 30.

Drawing from all areas of science, medicine and engineering, the Royal Society is a Fellowship made up of over 1600 members, including Stephen Hawking, Tim Berners-Lee and Richard Dawkins.

Sir Paul Nurse, President of the Royal Society, said: “Science and its application are at the core of so many aspects of our modern lives. From treating infectious diseases, to building safe bridges and tunnels, searching out life on other planets and even vacuuming our living rooms, science helps us understand ourselves better and it makes life better. Without scientific knowledge, we might not be able to solve some of the greatest challenges of our time: food shortages, climate change and tackling diseases."

"The scientists elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society this year are leaders in their fields and have contributed much to the scientific endeavour. We are delighted to welcome them alongside the likes of great British scientists such as Newton, Boyle and Darwin.”

Click here to view the full list of new Fellows and Foreign Members