Researchers honoured with Royal Society Awards

25 August 2022

Awards 2015 3 4
© The Royal Society
Professor Charlotte Williams OBE FRS and Professor Raymond Pierrehumbert FRS have both received prestigious medals from the Royal Society in recognition of their outstanding contributions to science.

Director of the Oxford Martin Programme on the Future of Plastics, Charlotte Williams is a Professor of Inorganic Chemistry and Associate Head of Department (Research) in Oxford Chemistry. She has been awarded the Leverhulme Medal for outstanding contributions in the field of chemical engineering and applied chemistry. It recognises her pioneering work developing and understanding high performance carbon dioxide utilisation catalysts and the chemistry of next-generation plastic materials.

Part of the Livestock, Environment and People (LEAP) project, Raymond Pierrehumbert is the Halley Professor of Physics at the University and receives the Rumford Medal for his wide ranging contributions to atmospheric physics. His work encompasses the physics of climate on earth and on other planets, including newly discovered exoplanets, as well as the nature and impact of climate disruption resulting from anthropogenic climate change.

The Oxford Martin School congratulates them on this significant recognition. It also extends congratulations to the Oxford-AstraZeneca Vaccine Team, many of whom are or have previously been associate with our research programmes, who have been presented with the Copley Medal, thought to be the world’s oldest scientific prize.